LEGO Town Hall Build, Part One

The Town Hall, from the Modular Series, is the largest LEGO set I own (so far), and a lot of fun to build, with its movable elevator, design elements, and imposing appearance. (Lookin’ good on Main Street!)

Thing is, it’s not really set up for play. The upper floors lift off but the ceilings are high enough that once you complete each floor, you really can’t reach down to move minifigs around in it. Since it is a complete 360-degree building, you can’t reach in from the back (as you can with the Haunted House, #10228), so once it’s built, you’re pretty much done.

Having built it once already, I decided that this time, I would have a bit more fun with it. First of all, I do enjoy setting up to build. I like to release my inner OCD and line everything up neatly. There’s something very satisfying and calming about this and, in fact, I generally work with my LEGO creations first thing every morning after breakfast, before I start my day, because it gives me a certain zen-like serenity. Everything is orderly, much unlike the rest of my life. So, here’s my set-up, with all the bricks laid out to begin building the first floor, and how it looks once I’ve built that far.

A little OCD.

A little OCD.

LEGO Town Hall Build, Partly Done

Before I finish the first floor, before the walls are all the way up, I have a little fun with the tax office. Professor Snape, from the Harry Potter sets, is my favorite mini-fig, partly because he looks so crabby, partly because I totally have a crush on Alan Rickman, who plays Snape in the HP movies. (If you like him too, be sure to see the movie “Truly, Madly, Deeply”.) So, here we have Snape paying his property taxes, and quite irked about the whole deal.

The clerk has never seen galleons before. Nor anyone as scary as Snape.

The clerk has never seen galleons before. Nor anyone as scary as Snape.

The first floor of the Town Hall also features an auditorium, so once I had it partly built, I tore it down again and created the scene, “The Hearing on Illegal Aliens Goes Awry”. Self-explanatory!

Can't get the photo otherwise.

Can’t get the photo otherwise.

That little alien on the right is one of my fave minifigs.

That little alien on the right is one of my fave minifigs.

After I completed the first floor, with its grand front façade, I added a wedding scene. Lo, the happy couple and their parents!

See the happy couple and their parents.

See the happy couple and their parents.

More on the upper floors of the Town Hall next time.Question: Is anyone reading this blog?

About i dream of lego

Visit my blog at http://www.legodreams.wordpress.com, or my pix at http://www.flickr.com/photos/95520544@N05 and http://www.mocpages.com/home.php/97091
This entry was posted in Builds and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

